2013-(Doompocalypse Redux)

Published January 2, 2013 by ashleyhannelore

As we all know, from the drunk drivers, the calenders, and every single post on every single social website, it’s a new year. 2013.
Finally, I am able to stop associating all bad things with my life. As you can tell, 2012 wasn’t exactly my greatest year. Emotionally supporting students at school with their loss of a friend Kaighla, my cutting, religious obstacles, and thoughts of suicide and eating disorders. During the past year, I had delt with too many horrible times that a teenager should not have to. This year, I just want to be able to focus on the present, the future, and letting go of my issues.
This year, I don’t want a pointless resolution that I’m not going to stick with, because I honestly don’t care all that much about it. I don’t want to have a resolution, just to have one. I want to do something that matters this year. Not just lose weight, or let go of the past.

1. I want to make someone smile or laugh at least once a day. That way, I know that I have made someone happy for at least a short period of time.

2. I want to buy a homeless person a meal, or give them food if I have it with me, each time I see them. It seems as if we look down on someone that doesn’t own shelter, or an enormous amount of wealth. They are still humans. They still deserve the same amount of respect as we do. So many times do we pass them and pretend not to see them, or focus on something else as a distraction. The point is, we’ve all done it. I don’t want to do that anymore, I want to make sure that on that day, they won’t question if they have to go without eating again.

3. I want to forget about my problems and focus on others’. I want to make sure that I know there is always going to be someone who is worse off. I want to make sure that I am always there to help, and that I am the person that people know to go to when they are in need, no matter what it be. I want to be helpful, and selfless.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/writing-challenge-new-years-resolutions-doompocalypse-redux/

5 comments on “2013-(Doompocalypse Redux)

  • Leave a Reply

